BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

working between autocad and archicad

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi all,

I would appreciate some advice please. Ive been using ArchCad for a number of years now for design work on my own. It looks like I might be working a building firm who will probably be using AutoCAD software. I have no experience of working with AutoCAD except a very long time ago at University briefly. I would like to think I can continue to work with Archicad but is this realistic if the my colleagues are all using AutoCAD? Will I be able to work effectivly with them or do I need to just bite the bullet and learn to work in AutoCAD? The work will prob involve mostly 2D drawings for renovation and new houses for a building firm. Im using Archicad 11 international and have no experience with transfering documents with Autocad software. Anyone who can give some advise on this or who is in the same position.

I know you CAN transfer files with Autocad but im wondering how this works in practice and if its too complicated if I remain the odd one out.

Paul
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable
It is certainly possible to use ArchiCAD for 2D drafting in an AutoCAD environment, though not really best practice. If you do choose to continue with ArchiCAD you an expect to be responsible for making it work. This is not too hard but you also need to expect that any problems will be blamed on ArchiCAD (and you by association).