Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Very raw newbie; stadium design using stairs?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Ok. Here's my deal. I'm a University student who is fairly proficient at AutoCAD 2000 and lesser versions, however my school has a copy of ArchiCAD 8 the unversity version and I wish to do a conceptual model in 3d and frankly I hate AutoCAd for 3d modelling.

My first assumption is that this version has nearly all, if not all the functions of the regular version.

So here's the situation:

I'm trying to make a simple hockey arena in archiCAD... So there's a couple things I've had trouble with:

1. Using stairs to make the stands works fine in straight sections, but not in the curved corners.

2. I haven't messed around with this much, but the only solution for the "vomitories" (the tunnels from the concession area to the stands) I've found is to use a landing and stairs again. Is there an easier way?

The first point is my biggest stumbling block.. I basically and looking to get a very simple output that would have some (as many as are easy to make) aspects simlar to the following webpage ArchiCAD output:

http://www.graphisoft.co.uk/community/success_stories/neworleans.html

(look at the bottom picture for what I mean regarding curved stairs for stands at the end sections)...

Any easy solutions?? or am I digging a deep hole for myself and should just go back to trying to do this in AutoCAD??

Any help/response/direction would be greatly appreciated.

Patrick Nolan
3 REPLIES 3
Dwight
Newcomer
Think laterally - don't use stairs at all - model all the steps with slabs.

Use the seat steps - around 16" each in height first and then add the intermediate slabs for stairs. The trick is to assess what is repeatable using offset and magic wanding.