Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

64-bit integration

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi,

I understand that this may have been touched on before, but I am currently looking at changing my GUI from XP Pro 32-bit to XP 64-bit. I was wondering if anyone had come across any problems running any of the following, and if so what problems did you encounter.

ArchiCAD 10
MaxonForm
Artlantis Studio v1.25
Photoshop CS3

I also aim to upgrade to a Duo or Quad core with 4Gig ram. Anybody know of conflicts with either of these aswell.

Thanking all in advance for their input and opinions
25 REPLIES 25
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi,
I have been using 64 bit XP for 6 months or so. There seem to be no adverse effects as far as Archicad goes. I can use all available ram obviously.

There could be problems with drivers for plotters/ printers / scanners / etc. Check on that.

The other problem is that I cannot use Acrhicad 9 in 64bit. I have to use it in a 32bit environment.

As far as Core Duo, I like my chip a lot (E6700). It works very well and has sped things up considerably. I have mine running @ 3.4 Ghz and it runs incredibly stable.

Photoshop seems to run great but I only have CS2. I imagine CS3 will have no problems. No experience with the other software
Karl Ottenstein
Chris wrote:
I understand that this may have been touched on before, but I am currently looking at changing my GUI from XP Pro 32-bit to XP 64-bit.
It's not the GUI that you would be switching.

Anyway, all users - XP/Vista and Mac - may find this article on 64-bit drivers interesting:
http://news.com.com/64-bit+PCs+Drivers+wanted/2100-1003_3-6200517.html?tag=nefd.top
[I have no plans personally to go to Vista - am ditching Microsoft and switching to Mac instead - but the comment in there about Vista shipping as only 32-bit is interesting. Can it really be true that Vista users have to order a 64-bit DVD from Microsoft?!]