BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Modelling Elevation and Site Buildings

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi,

I am new to archicad and am not sure about the best way to model a wall with several gables. It is a historic building and does not have a roof. I have attached a sketch of the elevation to clarify what I mean.

Is the best way to do it... to make a wall which is higher than needed and then using Solid Element Operations subtract all the wedges? If so then how do I make these wedges? Would it be a case of drawing a fill and then extruding it as I would have done in sketchup?

Also, What is the best way to model surrounding massed buildings of irregular shapes? Should I use the wall tool with geometry method set to polygonal, and then similar to the elevation above subtract the roof slant using SEO? I could not attach the sketch for this as I am only able to have one attachment for the post.

I hope that all makes sense. Thanks in advance for your help.

Cheers,

Malte[/img]

wall elevation.jpg
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi Malte,

You're absolutely right, you will need to build the wall to the highest point and use SEO with upwards extrusion to remove the bits you don't need.

The simplest tool if it is just a straight slope is to use the roof tool. Draw a short strip of roof that covers the width of the wall, duplicate/mirror it across to the other gables, then group it together. Use this as the Operator, then place it on a special layer that is turned off in all output layer combinations.

If it is a more complex shape, use the complex profile as you suggest. It doesn't necessarily need to be triangular in shape as you have have drawn, as the 'upwards extrusion' bit means that it will remove any part of the wall above.