BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

!Restored: what is the function of view map?

Anonymous
Not applicable
i am a very beginner of archicad, i've used microstation and autocad before.
i have been using archicad since september this year.

although i read the reference guide about project map and view map. but i still can not clarify with them.

is it the view map can save your design stage?
if not, what is the alternative to save your design stage?
u know, design is a development, but sometimes, u may need to look backward.
8 REPLIES 8
Link
Graphisoft Partner
Graphisoft Partner
A view is a live 'look' at your model. A view has stored settings, like layer combinations, scale, etc. It's a transition between your model and the layout (paperspace). It has been discussed many times before and most recently here.

Try doing a search, using the (lower) Search function above.

Cheers,
Link.
Laura Yanoviak
Advocate
If you're familiar with AutoCAD, a "View" in ArchiCAD is comparable to a "Viewport" in AutoCAD.
MacBook Pro Apple M2 Max, 96 GB of RAM
AC26 US (5002) on Mac OS Ventura 13.5
Djordje
Ace
Laura wrote:
If you're familiar with AutoCAD, a "View" in ArchiCAD is comparable to a "Viewport" in AutoCAD.
Ummmm ... not really.

A viewpoint is just a plan, section, elevation, 3D view, whatever point in the virtual space that you are viewing your model from. It has no other paramaters or properties.

Views, however, are the viewpoints with properties - scale, model view options, dimension settings, layer combinations, etc. They are the drawings that you place on the layout - or, in AutoCAD speak, the viewports in the PaperSpace.
Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... 1995
HP Omen
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
Djordje wrote:
Laura wrote:
Ummmm ... not really.