BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Creating Own Objects?

Anonymous
Not applicable
I've been working in ArchiCad 10 for about 2 months now, and I'm having huge problems with creating simple GDL object with the build-in tool "Save 3D model as". I have tried almost anything, including selecting a pair of Tree out of the AC 10 library, and then making a single object of them. But after creating this object, the whole project becomes instable and I get error messages about not having enough memory. This despite the fact that I have 4 GB of DDR2 RAM. Sometimes I also get a "Warning!" when I open the object. The message looks like this:

"Warning!

Unnecessary token(s) after end of command at line 96 in the 3D script of file Tr?d.gsm."

Now, I'm wondering if there is anything I can do to sort this problem out? Or doesn't the "Save 3D model as"-tool work as it should?
________
French Cooking
7 REPLIES 7
Dwight
Newcomer
Well, I make 3D objects in the way you suggest and there's never an unusual problem. Just the usual problems.

However, making new objects out of old objects as you are doing is not a valid test, since all the new object does is "Call" the old one.

Make an object from three or four slab pieces or a simple table made from primities to test.
Dwight Atkinson
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thank you Dwight

The test with slabs worked! But my little problem still remains. Isn't it possible to save default library parts as a simple GDL object then? Or am I doing something wrong?
________
BOX VAPORIZERS
Frank Beister
Advisor