BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

GDL beginners question

Anonymous
Not applicable
I'm trying to learn something about GDL script, because I want to make my own objects parametric.
Therefore I studied the cookbook 4 chair example of the beginners guide.
I build a chair in metric according to the manual, but when it comes to making everything parametric I get lost, because of the strange variable of the legs of the chair. The legs are made of the cone.
Leg diamater = lsec
But what means lsec/3, lsec/2 and I even saw somewhere lsec/8.
Can somebody explane to me the meaning of the numbers and the /
Thanks in advance
9 REPLIES 9
Erich
Contributor
lsec is your parametric variable. The "/" just indicates the math division operation and the numbers are the denominators. So lsec/2 is just half the values of the variable lsec and lsec/3 is one third.

HTH
Erich

AC 19 6006 & AC 20
Mac OS 10.11.5
15" Retina MacBook Pro 2.6
27" iMac Retina 5K
Barry Kelly
And '*' (asterisk) is multiplication if ever you see that.

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Erich
Contributor
Take a look at the Operators section of the GDL Reference Guide that is located in your help menu in ArchiCAD. It will give you these basic operators as well as those that are a bit more obtuse. In the US version this section is on page 261 for the ArchiCAD 18 version. It should be somewhere near that point in your copy.
Erich

AC 19 6006 & AC 20
Mac OS 10.11.5
15" Retina MacBook Pro 2.6
27" iMac Retina 5K
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thank you Erich and Barry for the explanation.
But why must I divide in three or two parts?