BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Tricking memory

walkinthepark
Participant

When and if I do have a finalized library of usable seats, I will be using them to populate my arenas. A task that has steadfastly been blocked from my path because I continue to receive error messages from either Archicad V22 or Windows. In an attempt to "trick" the computer I backed up a few steps in my process, employed the services of Modelport to reduce the polygon count and file sizes of this monster I have been working on for four years. Back when I started using computers, back when dinosaurs roamed the earth, technology utilized a procedure called "de-fragging" when the computer would compress all of the bites that WERE being used to leave a computer landscape that had one large area to place data into usable memory instead of finding enough space in that landscape one small crumb at a time. I don't know if that was an accurate description of how "de-fragging" actually worked, and I don't know if it is still practiced by practicing computer users or even experienced technicians. That is the first possible tool in my belt in trying to get past that memory problem.