BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.
SOLVED!

HIDDEN LINES FOR SLABS NOT WORKING - SAME STOREY

g r a n t
Enthusiast

Hi,

I can't come up with a solution via searching....maybe not entering the correct terminology. 

I have two slabs. One is the concrete floor and the other is the column footing. The top of the footing is just below the slab so I put both on the same storey with the footing being vertically offset the distance of the slab.

I was expecting to see hidden lines for the outline of the footing when viewing the floor plan. Model view has hidden lines checked. Each element has hidden lines using the dashed line. I've tried just about everything. Any help is appreciated. Kind regards, Grant

I started learning ArchiCAD at age 50....bear with me,
AC26
MacBook Pro M1 Max.
Ventura 13.1
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Solution
jl_lt
Ace

Hi Grant, here are some solutions:

1. manually override the linetype of the column, from solid to hidden.  This way, you can keep it in the same level

2.use a graphic override for the column footings. Having them in their own layer will facilitate this process. Apply this Graphic override to your view.

3.Put all your columns footings in a floor floor below, so you can set their proyection on hidden line. Then, in the layouts, you overlay your slab plan with your footings plan. 

4.Set the preferences/legacy options, so show object BENEATH the current view as hidden line.   (i really dont recommend this option, because it affects all the slabs in all the floors, but if you are only working with this elements it would work)

hope it helps!

View solution in original post

Solution
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin