BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

viewing 2d survey/site plan in 3d perspective

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am very new to ArchiCAD11 after years of using AutoCAD. Is it possible to view 2d lines in the 3d view mode? I have xreferenced a survey that is drawn in 3d with 2d linework. I have used the 'elevate' command to hopefully set the survey at close to the elevation of the building model. Is there a way to visually verify the location of the lines in 3d? Whenever I hit F3 to go to the 3d mode, only 3d objects are visible. In AutoCAD it is so simple to orbit or get a front or side elevation view to check the locations of 2d lines. Am I missing something really obvious here?
Thank you,
jp
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable
Your autocad dwg lines should be visible in 3D (if it is still a dwg, not converted to Archicad lines which are 2D only).

If you hover your cursor over a point or line endpoint in 3D window, hit Z (with tracker on) it will display the Z (elevation) co-ordinate of that point in the tracker.
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thanks for the help, but for some reason i can't get the lines to display. Do I need to set up a special view to work inside of? I hit F3 while drawing on the 1st story, and nothing shows up except for the 3d elements of the building model. I have not converted the .dwg files. I have tried them as both attachments and overlays, layers locked and unlocked. Still no luck. I have tried to find a setting somewhere, but nothing seems to work. Any ideas?
Thanks!!!
Anonymous
Not applicable
Try following from step 4 here -

http://www.archicadwiki.com/TechNotes/How_to_Superimpose_a_2D_Floor_Plan_onto_a_3D_Model?highlight=%28TechNotes/%29%7C%28%E2%80%A2+ArchiCAD+11%29

I haven't tried it, so I don't know if you can snap to it in 3d on not.

Hope that helps!