BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Project data & BIM
About BIM-based management of attributes, schedules, templates, favorites, hotlinks, projects in general, quality assurance, etc.

Question - hotlinking/mod files

AM2
Participant

Hi, Im new to archicad and am using Archicad 27. 

We have finished our first set of documentation for a multi-dwelling project and have separated each dwelling into 5 files. Those being - Dwelling 1, Dwelling 2, Dwelling 3, Dwelling 4 and Masterplan/site plan. The master plan has Dwelling `1-4 files hotlinked for Council Submission.

Now that we have received approval, do we complete the working drawings in each original original file,m then hotlink the new file into the master file? 

Or do you create new layer combinations in the master file, such as dwelling 1 :working drawings and create working drawings within the master file.

Sorry if this is confusing.

Does anyone have any video tutorials on how to do this?

Thank you for your help. 

5 REPLIES 5
Karl Ottenstein

Typically, each bulding’s file would have the construction documentation for that building as part of that file since the building would be modeled orthogonally in the file… vs some arbitrary rotation on the site.  The master file for a multi building scenario would just be for the various site plans.  Just a rule of thumb since for a steeply sloping site with particular geotechnical conditions, you might well have the foundation in the master file due to needing ground beams to connect the foundations for the individual buildings.

One of the forum moderators
AC 27 USA and earlier   •   macOS Ventura 13.6.6, MacBook Pro M2 Max 12CPU/30GPU cores, 32GB