BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Visualization
About built-in and 3rd party, classic and real-time rendering solutions, settings, workflows, etc.

High Res Rendering...NEED HELP!!!

Anonymous
Not applicable
A client of my firm would like a high quality rendering to re-produce into a 6' billboard for presentation. I am new to this archicad world and I have no idea as how to approach the rendering engine in Archicad 9,10, or archicad for that matter. From what I can gather, everytime I want to render at a higher resolution of 300+, the overall size my rendering output is shrunk. My questions is, how can I render at a high resolution and yet still keep the specified rendered image size. Is this possible or do I need to take it to a different rendering engine such as 3D Viz, Artlantic...etc. My last question is, can I render my images out into tiff files, Eps...etc without doing a manual save as "tiff, jpg..." after the image had been rendered. Any rendering advice will greatly appreciated.
11 REPLIES 11
Dwight
Newcomer
There are no output devices that require [or can exploit] 300dpi except offset printing - most poster-sized work is 100dpi or less. Inkjet is fine at 150 dpi. Most site billboard artwork is blown up from relatively small images since they are only seen at a great distance.

Just this week i was doing 30x42" Artlantis renderings with 4500 pixels and that was more than enough. The problem with extreme rendering size and resolution is that the the texture maps "break down." They aren't as highly resolved as the base rendering is and begin to look blurry. In our case, the model was too crude and on the large printed surface, our eyes strained to see concrete seams, chamfering and the next level of detail not present. This was at arm's length, not from across the room....