Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Composite wall skin volume calculation

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi,

I'm trying to find a way to calculate accurately the individual skin volumes of a composite wall for listing. I want to calculate quantities of say, bricks, through individual skin volume.

I'm very new to the calculation features of ArchiCAD, so I might be missing something here. I've found out that you can list the accurate skin volumes, but this skin volume data doesn't seem to be available for further calculation. I also haven't yet found a way to bind a COMPONENT quantity into these skin volumes.

So, now I'm using a property object bound to the wall i want to calculate. I've tried to make up formulas for calculating the volumes myself. I'm up to a point where i have the accurate skin volumes through WALL_SKINS_PARAMS (skin thickness etc.) and WALL_LENGTH_A and B (corrections for angled ends of wall). This method works for at least straight, non slanted, non curved wall.

I cannot however find a way to calculate the subtraction of possible niches and openings from individual skin volumes. Niches should be subtracted from only some skin volumes, and full openings should be subtracted from all skin volumes. So I would need a way to separate the full openings, niches on the A side and niches on the B side.

For now, I have a method for separating full openings and niches, if the niches are on one side only. This can be done by comparing WALL_SURFACE_A and B. This is not perfect however, as it doesn't take in consideration the depth of the niches. While I could live with this problem, the method is unfortunately open to errors because of the limitation to place niches on one side only.

I guess my questions are: