Licensing
About all sorts of licenses, their management, Graphisoft ID, Graphisoft Store, License Manager Tool, etc.

Sample house - best practice

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello,

I am new to Archicad and looking for a good sample house to download that shows best practice drawing technique and layouts.

The house should be drawn in 3D with all necessary elements and details with a full set of construction documents.

Perhaps some of the masters out there can post a drawing?

As a new user, I am looking for a good example to follow. I have done all the tutorials but feel they gloss over the main features and don't give real world examples. I still have lots of questions.

For instance, to draw foundations the tutorials show plain simple slabs with no slab thickening or footing. Do you experts really draw this way and leave the slab thickening for 2D detail drawings or do you specify that foundation slabs are made 'to engineers specifications'?

For walls, do you draw a timber framed wall with plaster lining, framing, insulation and exterior cladding all as one composite wall type? How is exterior cladding like weatherboard/clapboard shown? If not as part of the wall how do you make it look right in section drawings?

All help appreciated.
4 REPLIES 4
Dwight
Newcomer
You have asked a big set of questions, the answers to which are conditional. I doubt if anyone would share a real set of drawings.

But i agree that the tutorials do not appear to have the depth a beginner needs to learn how to detail a building - they merely schematically show tool operation.

Practice varies as to 3D model completeness. There is a large investment in making a complete model - many practitioners cheat, merely using 2D section enhancements or cut and paste.

Your better modelers make a Complex Profile for their Foundation/Footing/Drain, etc

As for the walls - check out the Composite Assemblies - a way to lay up fills in specific thicknesses to emulate wall assemblies.
Dwight Atkinson