BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

How to edit a objects - Dormer

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello!

As a beginner i have some problem to edit the dormer. My plan is to have a dormer with three windows but I´m not able to edit the dormer in Archicad. I´m not able to choose more than one window. How do I edit this object or do I have to built a whole new dormer? How do I built a new dormer if I have to?

Best regards

Henrik
21 REPLIES 21
Erika Epstein
Booster
Unfortunately the dormer you show doesn't have a parameter for quantity of windows.

You can construct your own dormer using walls and roofs instead of being limited by the dormer library part.
Erika
Architect, Consultant
MacBook Pro Retina, 15-inch Yosemite 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Mac OSX 10.11.1
AC5-18
Onuma System

"Implementing Successful Building Information Modeling"
Anonymous
Not applicable
Ok, thanks. Do I save it like an ojbect or do I have to built directly on the houes? All angles on the roof of the dormer does it a little bit complicated for me as well as the the inside adaptation of the house.

/Henrik
Mats_Knutsson
Advisor
henein wrote:
Ok, thanks. Do I save it like an ojbect or do I have to built directly on the houes? All angles on the roof of the dormer does it a little bit complicated for me as well as the the inside adaptation of the house.

/Henrik
Hi,
You choose. I'd go for "build directly on house" if it's a one-off dormer. It's a good practice of basic element editing. Check Solid Element Operation for cutting the dormer walls to the roof and roof-trim for trimming the dormer roof to the main roof. PM me your email and I'll send you a pdf (swedish) on the roof trim.
AC help also works great. Search for "Trim Element to Roof" and start from there.
Mats
AC 25 SWE Full